Album Review: Legend


John Legend releases his ninth studio album entitled Legend under the license of Republic Records for the first time. This is his second album during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The official album for LEGEND, the ninth studio album of EGOT Grammy-award winning artist - John Legend.

Legend reminds me of Alicia Keys’ KEYS for the reasons that it is named after their last names and it is composed of two discs. Disc 1 of Legend contains upbeat tracks while Disc 2 focuses on slow soulful sounds, which are John Legend’s signature since his debut in the music industry.

The legendary album cover looks unique compared to his previous releases. Him being alone without a shirt and with a mustache on a black background is a clear proof of pure artistry and brilliance like no other.

To my surprise, the 24 tracks meet the expectations of its album title and legendary album cover. Below are my review for each track.

>>> DISC 1

Track 1: Rounds

Instrumental: It is strong and is going well with the powerful vocals by John Legend. Rick Ross adds some spice to the mix. Lyrics: It is about making love with a loved one filled with passion and lust. It is a good sex song, I’m surprised. 3 of 5 stars!

Track 2: Waterslide

Instrumental: Fast, upbeat and just having fun. Lyrics: It tells a story of having a cool summer vacation in a water park. The couple is having fun all day. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 3: Dope

Instrumental: It is fun-filled from start until end. You can dance with it every time it plays on your playlist. Lyrics: John Legend expresses his appreciation for the girl he loves, telling her how awesome she is. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 4: Strawberry Blush

Instrumental: Lively and full of energy but not as smooth as I expected. Lyrics: Another expected love song by John Legend that is filled with sugar rush. The love story is sweet. 3 of 5 stars!

Track 5: Guy Like Me

Instrumental: It sounds smooth like a cotton candy. Lyrics: It tells a story of a man convincing how he is the perfect fit for the woman he admires. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 6: All She Wanna Do

Instrumental: It is like a disco masterpiece full of soul. Lyrics: John Legend tells the woman he loves how she completes him and it is not a problem with him if they are going to dance all day and all night. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 7: Splash

Instrumental: It sounds like natural drops of water. Lyrics: I am surprised how sexual this track is. The trio of John Legend, Jhene Aiko and Ty Dolla Sign makes me feel like I am on a temptation beach island surrounded with gorgeous women who are preparing me for a wild ride. 3 of 5 stars!

Track 8: You

Instrumental: Smooth-sailing and filled with pleasure. Lyrics: I remember this song with these lyrics, “All I want is you.” 3 of 5 stars!

Track 9: Fate

Instrumental: It is soulful, but I am not sure if this is the kind of sound I will remember after listening to the album. Lyrics: A duo with Amber Mark makes this song more powerful on a good kind of way. 3 of 5 stars!

Track 10: Love

Instrumental: Sweet, sensual and sexy. Lyrics: This is a sex song sung powerfully with Jazmine Sullivan. Listening to this song makes having sex a good journey. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 11: One Last Dance

Instrumental: This is the kind of old-soul sound that I will never forget. It is catchy to the ears without becoming too much. Lyrics: This is one of my strongest favorites. The lyrics are flowing naturally even it hurts to let go of someone you used to love after the dance. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 12: All She Wanna Do

Instrumental: Fast, groovy and smooth. Lyrics: Every thing stays the same as Track 6. The only difference is this version is a duo with Saweetie. 5 of 5 stars!

>>> DISC 2

Track 1: Memories

Instrumental: Sweet, soulful and soft – not overdoing. Lyrics: I love this song. It talks about making a special memory as a couple. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 2: Nervous

Instrumental: All is clear, without getting busy. Lyrics: John Legend got me here. This is exactly the feelings I felt the first time I fell in love. It felt comfortable being around her. I could smile and tell jokes but deep inside me, I still felt nervous. 5 of 5 stars.

Track 3: Wonder Woman

Instrumental: Sweet and soulful. It grows on me every day. Lyrics: It is impressive when John Legend plays with words and logic. The way I understand it, Wonder Woman is limited to being the title of the song but the way he sings it, wonder and woman are two separate words. “You make me wonder (There is a pause to emphasize he does not sing about Wonder Woman as the superhero) Woman, how did you do it?”

He keeps wondering why his woman reads him like a heroine with super strength. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 4: Honey

Instrumental: It has a power punch from start to finish. Lyrics: This is another lustful duet song with Muni Long. Honey is a metaphor for a sexual activity. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 5: I Want You To Know

Instrumental: Cute, playful but not my favorite. Lyrics: John Legend reminds his woman that she is not alone. He is there for her no matter what. 3 of 5 stars!

Track 6: Speak In Tongues

Instrumental: It sounds experimental and a real stand-out. Lyrics: I love this love song. Its title is unique. It is a duet with Jada Kingdom and it is about having a conversation that only “genuinely in-love” couples can understand. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 7: The Other Ones

Instrumental: Quite dark and too stretch-out. Lyrics: Rapsody raps to give the song a push forward but I do not think it is enough. Arguably, it is my least favorite. 2 of 5 stars!

Track 8: Stardust

Instrumental: Smooth-sailing masterpiece. Just the right sound to make this song glow. Lyrics: I love this a lot! John Legend sings with gusto, revealing how special the woman he loves. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 9: Pieces

Instrumental: Strong simple piano. Lyrics: This is an inspiring song. I love listening to it over and over again. It makes me remember how resilient I am not matter what life throws at me. “Learn to live in pieces,” as the song says. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 10: Good

Instrumental: Sweet old-school all along. Lyrics: This is the eleventh and the last duo of the album, with Ledisi. It is a love song. It talks about a couple, wanting to make love as they feel good with themselves. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 11: I Don’t Love You Like I Used To

Instrumental: Powerful intro, natural flow. Lyrics: John Legend tells his story how his love for his wife improves. The fire is burning, brighter than ever. 5 of 5 stars!

Track 12: Home

Instrumental: Love how John Legend ends the album with a piano-focused gentle track. Lyrics: This is the album’s signature song. It is a song that articulates true love that never ends. 5 of 5 stars!

Overall review: LEGEND stands as one the superior studio albums of John Legend, for which 15 tracks of the 24 are 5 stars. These 15 tracks exceed my expectation. These are dope. For this reason, this album is a 4-star! No perfect but smooth-sailing.

Photo Courtesy of: John Legend Official Facebook

Let me know what you think