My Year-End Countdown


No one cares about this countdown but me.

My name is Dean Ryan Martin and these are my favorite songs of 2022.

I have 54 favorite songs this year. Chris Brown, Alicia Keys and John Legend have more than one entry in the countdown but as part of the rule, four of their songs are for substitution to give chance for the other artists.

These substitute songs are my wildcards**. Wildcard songs have not charted in my monthly countdowns but it has caught my attention the minute I am searching for substitutions.

54) Friends – Monica ft. Ty Dolla Sign

There is something that sounds tight with this song. The flow of lyrics perhaps? Or, nevermind what. I miss Monica and the Lady of Soul still sings it well.

53) The Mood – Arin Ray ft. D Smoke

52) Don’t Rush – J Brown ft. Tank

51) Where I Go** – Nx Worries ft. HER

50) Slow – Tank ft. J Valentine

Never have I heard a song like this where the F-word becomes sweet and romantic.

49) POF – Ari Lennox

48) Outside – Bryson Tiller

47) I Love You – David Mann

46) Sweet Release** – Kevin Ross

45) Calm Down – Rema

44) No Love – Summer Walker ft. SZA, Cardi B

43) Changes – Jeremih

42) Sweet – Jon Batiste ft. Pentatonix, Diane Warren

41) Closer – Saweetie ft. HER

I love how fun the music video is, especially the part when there is clay tennis court in an island surrounded by an ocean.

40) Don’t Play With Love – LeVelle

39) Thrill Is Gone – J-Wonn

38) NWA – Lucky Daye ft. Lil Durk

37) Mood – Wizkid ft. BNXN

36) Brighter Days – Emeli Sande

35) Present – Khalid

34) Take A Dose – Kenny Lattimore

33) First Class** – Jack Harlow

32) WE (Warm Embrace) – Chris Brown

I got to admit I ain’t the biggest fan of Chris Brown but he surprises me with this song. The old-school CB returns!

31) Can’t Nobody – Keith Sweat ft. Raheem DeVaughn

30) What’s Up – DVSN ft. Jagged Edge

29) Vibe Like This** – SG Lewis ft. Ty Dolla Sign, Lucky Daye

This is the highest wildcard song in the countdown. The vibe hits me hard with pleasure and I still have no idea who SG Lewis is.

28) On Everything – LaToya London ft. Anthony Hamilton

27) If I Don’t – Raheem Devaughn

26) DFMU – Ella Mai

25) I’m Ready – Anthony Hamilton ft. Lil Jon

24) Amazing – Mary J. Blige ft. DJ Khaled

23) Freaky Deaky – Tyga ft. Doja Cat

22) City of Gods – Fivio Foreign ft. Kanye West, Alicia Keys

This is the only rap song in the countdown.

21) Tomorrow Can Wait – After 7

20) Keeps On Fallin’ – Babyface ft. Ella Mai

19) Off – Maxwell

18) Be My Girl – YK Osiris

17) Vices – Josh Levi

16) Surprise – Chloe

15) Lil’ Too Heavy – PJ Morton

14) Shirt – SZA

13) Fly As Me – Silk Sonic

12) Hate Our Love – Queen Naija ft. Big Sean

I keep hopin’ and prayin’ that this duo sells like hot cup cakes.

11) Life Is Changing – Destin Conrad

10) Hrs and Hrs – Muni Long

9) Nervous – John Legend

8) Out Of Time – The Weeknd

7) Half On It – Marques Houston

6) Don’t Love Me – Ne-yo

5) Come For Me – Alicia Keys ft. Khalid, Lucky Daye

This is the hottest love triangle song I have heard in history!

4) The Roof (When I Feel The Need) – Mariah Carey ft. Brandy

3) Good Love – City Girls ft. Usher

2) Gotta Move On – Diddy ft. Bryson Tiller

(1) No Stoppin’ Us – Charlie Wilson ft. Johnny Gill, Babyface, K-Ci Hailey

It is not everyday that a song like this pops up on your playlist. It is a real feel-good song with an old-school vibe that is sung by the four great names in R&B.

Let me know what you think