Rafa On the Sixth!


The King of Clay is back and he is back for good.

Rafael Nadal wins the first 1000 Clay Masters Tour in Monte Carlo for the sixth consecutive time and not dropping a set in his five matches. Receiving a bye in the first round, Rafa only allowed Thiemo de Bakker (67th in the world from Netherlands) and Michael Berrer (43rd in the world from Germany) to win one game during the second and third round.

Rafa met three compatriots going into the finals. Juan Carlos Ferrero pushed Rafa to work hard during the first set in the quarterfinals. Ferrero won four games but Rafa swept the second set and won at 6-2. Even David Ferrer couldn’t stand Rafa’s aggression in clay. Rafa won the semis 6-2, 6-3.

After upsetting Novak Djokovic, Fernando Verdasco surprisingly sailed through the finals. However, Rafael Nadal sealed this final match with a 6-0, 6-1 win over a good friend.

“For me [today] is very emotional,” admitted Nadal. “[It] is probably my favourite tournament. I love this tournament. [To] win here another time is a dream for me. The atmosphere here is unbelievable. I feel like [I’m at] home. No one match during seven years [have] I felt the crowd against me. I just can say thank you very much everybody.”

Let me know what you think

